What's DirectSync? Sync without the cloud!

DirectSync™ lets pro subscribers (paid or trial) sync without the cloud. Also known as peer-to-peer (P2P) syncing, storage limits are not applied when you use DirectSync. 

DirectSync is the perfect solution when you want to store the exact same stuff on two or more computers without using up Cubby space. Here's an example: You have 120 GB of photos on your computer at home. You want all 120 GB of photos to be available at work, so you set up DirectSync to avoid cloud storage limitations.

How to set up DirectSync between computers in your own Cubby account

Task One: Set up the folder you want to sync

In four words: SYNC ON, CLOUD OFF!

In more words:

  1. Go to the PC or Mac that has the folder you want to DirectSync. 
  2. Launch the Cubby desktop application.
    • Remember! You must be logged in with a Pro account (subscription or trial).
  3. Turn the folder into a Cubby or find it on your cubby list.
  4. Remove the cubby from the cloud. Otherwise you will use cloud space and not take advantage of DirectSync.
    • The cloud switch should say OFF.
    • Remember: When data is off the cloud it can't be accessed via cubby.com or mobile app.
  5. Make sure the cubby is syncing.
    • Click SYNC and make sure the switch says ON.

SYNC ON, CLOUD OFF

Task Two: Set up the other computers in the sync relationship

In four words: SYNC ON, CLOUD OFF!

In more words:

  1. Go to each computer that you want to keep in sync.
  2. Open the Cubby desktop application.
    • Remember! You must be logged in with the same Pro account as in Task One (subscription or trial).
  3. On your cubby list, find the Cubby from Task One and make sure it's syncing.
    • Click SYNC and make sure the switch says ON.
    • As with normal syncing, you will be asked to choose a location for your cubby when you turn on syncingIf you merge the cubby with an existing folder, any files in the existing folder are added to the cubby. 

Remember: Each computer must be powered on and running Cubby to stay in sync. Any computer that was off will start syncing when it is powered on. 

SYNC ON, CLOUD OFF


How to set up DirectSync between Cubby accounts

To set up a DirectSync relationship between Cubby accounts, simply turn off the cloud and then share the cubby with whomever you choose. You can invite anyone, but share recipients will need a Pro subscription (paid or trial) to DirectSync your cubby to their own PC or Mac.

Remember: Each computer must be powered on and running Cubby to stay in sync. Any computer that was off will start syncing when it is powered on. 


Notes for advanced users:

  • Cubby does not run as a service. It is a user application.
  • Cubby always sets up direct UDP connections between clients unless your firewall or NAT configuration prevents it from doing so, in which case data is relayed through our data centers using a TCP based, E2E secure SSL tunnel. As a result, computers on the same LAN are very likely communicating directly using UDP socket.
  • Broken DirectSync transfers will be resumed where they left off.


Are versions saved? What happens if a file gets deleted? 

Cubby only saves versions and deleted files for cubbies that are synced to the cloud. For cubbies that use DirectSync, deleted files are handled like any "normal" deleted file. That is, they are moved to the recycle bin or trash on each computer in a DirectSync relationship (unless you have changed your operating system settings to remove files immediately upon deletion).



Other articles you might find helpful:

Feedback and Knowledge Base