If you want to share with someone who is not a Cubby user, send them a public link. They'll be able to view your file or cubby, but not add or edit files or have any other benefits of shared folders.
What if I share a cubby with someone who is not a registered Cubby user?
Don't worry. They'll be asked to sign up.