What's syncing? What happens when I'm syncing?

Syncing means your folders remain the same across computers and the cloud. Changes in any location cause the other locations to be made the same. In other words, changes are saved to multiple computers and the cloud.

Examples 

When you make changes via cubby.com:

  • When you delete a file via cubby.com, the file is deleted from all computers that are syncing with the cubby
  • When you add (upload) a file via cubby.com, the file is added to all computers that are syncing with the cubby
  • When you download a file, make edits, and then upload again with the same name via cubby.com, the changed file is updated on all computers that are syncing with the cubby

When you make changes on your local computer:

  • When you delete a file on your local computer, the file is also deleted from the cloud and all other computers that are syncing with the cubby
  • When you add a file on your local computer, the file is also added to the cloud and all other computers that are syncing with the cubby
  • When you edit a file on your computer and save your changes, the changed file is updated on the cloud and all computers that are syncing with the cubby

DirectSync™ means your folders remain the same across computers, but not the cloud.


Other articles you might find helpful:




Feedback and Knowledge Base